Summer Reading and a Giveaway

beach reading spotIt’s finally summer on this part of the planet and that means it’s about time for some reading in the sunshine. For those in the Southern Hemisphere, I hope you’ll find a cozy fireside nook to snuggle into for some winter reading.

Here are the books I’ve been looking forward to reading for a while, so they’ll become my Summer (or Fall) reads. (Click on any picture for a description):

                                 

Thank you to Book Club Mom, Milka, Carrie Rubin, Christy Birmingham, Ally Bean, and Goodreads friends for recommending some of these.

And a huge thank you to Kate Johnston for her review of Ocean Echoes. Kate is a freelance writer and environmental crusader. We share a love of writing, nature, the ocean, and probably hundreds of other things. Her blog, 4 AM Writer, is filled with advice for writers at all stages in their careers. If you haven’t visited her yet, please make sure to stop by and check out her books in the last row above.

Goodreads Giveaway: To celebrate the summer, there’s a Goodreads Giveaway going on now for signed copies of Ocean Echoes. Feel free to enter if you live in the U.S., U.K., or Canada. The Goodreads giveaway ends on July 21. For blogging friends, if you leave a comment here by the end of July you’ll be in the running for another signed copy. There’s also a Kindle Countdown Deal for more summer celebrations – Ocean Echoes will be half price at only $1.99 starting today until July 20.

Have you read any of the above books? Do you recommend any others for summer reading? What will you be reading at the beach or by the fire? 

51 thoughts on “Summer Reading and a Giveaway

  1. Wow, I’m so honored that my book is up there on the list with the likes of “Lincoln in the Bardo.” Yours has been on my to-read list for way too long. I need an extra lifetime just for reading. Sigh.

    • I’d love an extra lifetime just for reading! There are so many that have been on my list for too long. Hopefully we’ll find more time this summer somehow!

  2. Ohhhh I’m so excited for you to read the Margaret Atwood book. It’s not one of her best known ones but is my fave. Thanks for the shout out and happy reading xx I have such a long to-read list – and your book is on it~ I am looking forward to warm days and long reading sessions 🙂

    • I’m reading A Handmaid’s Tale now and I love it so far, so now I really can’t wait to read Surfacing (and so many others)! Here’s to longer days and reading sessions – happy summer!

      • OMG OMG A Handmaid’s Tale YES. Great you like it. My mom cannot handle Atwood’s writing, she says it’s not her thing. I consider Atwood a genius! Agree to disagree with mom 😉

      • I’m reading it for a book club with my mom and brother. It’ll be interesting to see what they think of it. 🙂

  3. Thanks for sharing these, Sheila. I read all of the blurbs and they all sound great. I want to take you for adding to my ever-growing TBR stack! Now, if I could only take some time off and just read, that would be perfect. On the beach, of course. Have a great summer!

    • I’d love that too – we should all get extra reading vacations! It’s always exciting when we have an overflowing TBR stack. I hope you’ll get to that beach. Happy summer reading!

  4. What a lovely selection of books, thank you for sharing them with us. I’m reading a memoir on being a medical resident (the name of the book escapes me just now). The doctor speaks of how important it is to maintain a sense of empathy and compassion. Hope you have been able to go for another dip in the ocean!

    • That sounds like it should be required reading for all doctors. I’m glad you’re enjoying it! So far I’ve only dipped once but maybe I’ll get to again this weekend if the rain holds off. Say hello to the squirrels for me and thanks so much for the Twitter share – happy summer reading!

      • The squirrels say hello back (actually they are running away in terror from the little terrier who accompanies me everywhere I go, haha).

      • Hahah – I’m glad you have some wild kingdom entertainment going on out there to liven up the book reading!

  5. Thanks for sharing, Sheila, I’m honored to be included too. I recently saw the movie for A Man Called Ove and loved it, so will probably pick up the book (there’s usually something different to enjoy). Summer always makes me excited for a stack of books. Will check out your recommendations! 🙂

    • I hadn’t even known there was a movie – I’ll have to check it out. I’m excited for all the summer reads and can’t wait to dive into your books!

    • It’s always exciting to look through the to-read pile at all the opportunities! I hope you’re having a great summer so far filled with lots of reading and chocolate!

      • That’s great! I’ve only been to the beach a couple times so far but I guess that’s what happens when we live near these places. I’m glad you were able to listen to the waves for a while!

  6. Thank you so much for including my books on your list. What a treat. I was happy to have the opportunity to read and review your book — with a TBR pile that stands taller than my bedside table, I reserve the right to shuffle books to the top when they call to me. Glad I did that with yours!!

    • Thanks Kate! I hope your TBR pile doesn’t fall over on you while you’re sleeping! I know what you mean – there are so many books that I’ve been wanting to get to for so long. Hopefully we’ll find more reading time this summer somehow!

  7. A piece of the world looks so good! I just finished Orphan Train so I would like to read a little more from that author. And I definitely want to read A Man Called Ove! You have a good list here. I hope you have a great time reading this summer! 🙂

    • Orphan Train is another one that I’ve been wanting to get to for a while – thanks for reminding me! A Man Called Ove has been mentioned to me by a lot of different people so that one might have to be next. Thanks so much for stopping by – I’ll make sure to add your name to the giveaway. Happy summer reading!

    • Wow – that sounds like a powerful one. I love books that will make us look at the world in different ways or teach us something and that sounds like one of those. It’s always fun to read books from earlier time periods too – as a way of time traveling. I hope you’ll find many more great books to read!

      • With reference to the Makogai book you would be happy to know how important the environment and the sea were in the overall treatment of leprosy…… and today the island is home to a Marine Research Centre for fisheries commodities especially the spawning of giant clams (vasua) for reseedings on marine protected areas (MPA) to enhance local stock.

      • That’s great to hear! The ocean does so much for us, so I’m happy to hear of any marine protected areas like that.

  8. Oooh, so many temptations! I bought the Serpent of Essex on a recent trip to London, but can’t bring myself to read it because then it will feel like the trip is officially over (I’ve already read all the other books I lugged home)!

    • That would be great if the book could bring the trip back for you. It can be fun to put off reading a certain book for a while to let the anticipation grow. I’m glad you had fun in London while finding lots of books to read!

  9. That looks like an interesting selection of books Sheila. I’ve read Kate’s first book and I’ve read Atwood’s Surfacing – I read it years ago and it always haunted my memories so I re-read it again recently. I’ve just finished a fantastic book called Fell by Jenn Ashworth. Good luck with the giveaway, I’ve already got my copy.

    • Thanks Andrea! I’ll have to make sure to look up Fell since we have the same kinds of tastes in books. I can’t wait to read Surfacing now too. I hope you’re finding many more great summer reads!

  10. These look fantastic, Sheila. I won’t be part of the giveaway because I’m in Australia but I’m going to go through these in the next few days and purchase some 😉

  11. I am always looking for book reco’s and love to share mine, too. I recently read two travel memoirs that I thoroughly enjoyed: Return to Glow, and Without Explanation. I reviewed both on my blog and was then thrilled that the authors started writing to me. 🙂

    • That’s great – I’ll have to look those up – thank you! I love books about traveling or any kind of adventure. I hope you’re finding lots of adventures out there lately!

  12. I love looking at other peoples’ book recommendations and the books on their ‘to be read’ lists. I haven’t read any of the ones you’ve mentioned above and have made a note of them. I have your book on my phone and hope to get round to reading it this summer.

  13. This list looks great. I want to stop everything and read them all now. However, I must reluctantly admit that ain’t going to happen, so one-by-one I’ll work my way through them. Thanks for including me in your post. I’m sure that Ove would thank you, too– if he wasn’t such a curmudgeon. 😉

    • Hahah – I can’t wait to start in on Ove! Your recommendation propelled him to the next-up spot so thank you for that. I hope you’ll be able to escape some of the renovations through a few great summer reads!

  14. I’m definitely interested in your selections after I finally finish this book of mine. It’s always hard for me to read fiction as much when I’m deep in the editing stages. I’ll come back to your post when I’m ready though. xo

    • All the writing and editing can definitely get in the way of reading! Good luck with it all and remember to get out there for some summer fun! xo

    • That’s great – Kate is a wonderful writer! A Man Called Ove is at the top of the list because I keep hearing such great things about it. I can’t wait to read them all – happy summer reading!

      • Yeah! I was just checking out the first one. It looks good! Can you get A Man Called Ove in English? I thought I heard it was written in Swedish or something? Happy reading to you, too, Sheila!

Comments are always welcome

