Happy World Oceans Day

The ocean does so much for us. It gave us life and continues to give us life. To celebrate the ocean, here are a few ocean facts:

The ocean covers nearly 71 percent of the Earth’s surface.

About 95 percent of the ocean remains unexplored.

Roughly half of the oxygen we breathe is produced by the ocean.

The Great Barrier Reef is the largest living structure on Earth. It can be seen from the Moon.

Fish supply the greatest percentage of the world’s protein consumed by humans.

Populations of large fish such as tuna, cod, swordfish, and marlin have declined by as much as 90 percent in the past century.

Plastic waste kills up to one million sea birds and 100,000 marine mammals each year.

The ocean could contain more plastics than fish by 2050.

It’s estimated that more than 90 percent of marine species are directly or indirectly dependent on coral reefs.

Nearly 60 percent of the world’s remaining reefs are at significant risk of being lost in the next three decades. The major causes of coral reef decline are coastal development, sedimentation, destructive fishing practices, pollution, tourism, and climate change.

oceanGlobal bycatch — unintended destruction caused by the use of non-selective fishing gear such as trawl nets, longlines and gillnets — amounts to 20 million tons a year. The annual global bycatch mortality of small whales, dolphins, and porpoises alone is estimated to be more than 300,000 individuals.

The world’s oceans absorb about 25 percent of the carbon dioxide released into the atmosphere each year. That uptake is growing as carbon dioxide levels rise. Because of this, the ocean is growing acidic at a pace that’s 100 times faster than at any time in the last 20 million years.

(Compiled from NOAA, The Thomson Reuters Foundation, savethesea.org, Oceana, and The Christian Science Monitor.)

The ocean does so much for us. Here are a few things you can do for the ocean:

Ten Things You Can Do to Save Our Ocean (from UN Development) – We see these lists all the time and they’re usually the same – this one isn’t.

Protect Dolphins and Marine Life from Seismic Blasting

Tell Congress to Stop New Offshore Drilling Agenda

Thank you to Coleen Patrick and Letizia at Reading Interrupted for the latest reviews of Ocean Echoes. It means so much to me that you’d take the time to do that. Reading Interrupted celebrates books and reading in amazing, unique ways and Coleen is a talented writer and illustrator. If you’re not already familiar with their blogs, please take a look and make sure to follow.

Happy World Oceans Day!

44 thoughts on “Happy World Oceans Day

  1. Happy World Ocean Day to you, too. Considering where we’d be without them, seems like every day should be world ocean day, but maybe I’m being unrealistic. 😉

    • Happy day to you! I hope you’ll get to visit the ocean this summer and hope you’ll get the chance for lots of outdoor reading (with or without squirrels and chipmunks). Thank you so much for your lovely review! I really appreciate it.

  2. Great info here, Sheila. So sad to see us polluting our oceans as badly as our lands (and sometimes even worse than our lands). Thanks for bringing the issue to light.

    • Thanks Carrie! It’s a bit depressing, but I tried to show some reasons why the ocean and ocean life need our help (in case anyone is still wondering why these days). 🙂 I hope everything’s going well with your cat friend and make sure to let me know when you’ll be around here!

    • Thanks Jill! It always helps to join ocean conservation groups and sign a few petitions here and there. When individual voices join together, it gives me hope for environmental change.

  3. The oceans are an awesome and vital part of our planet and for the sake of future generations, we need to take care of them now. Your informative post is a great reminder of that. Happy World Oceans Day!

    • Yes! Happy World Oceans Day! I can tell how much you cherish the ocean from your beautiful photos. I hope you’ll get lots of chances to enjoy the ocean this summer!

  4. This is such a worthwhile cause to celebrate and a Belated Happy World Ocean Day! 😀I love the ocean, almost feel hypnotised by its sound and grandeur. After reading your post today I will appreciate it so much more. There are so many facts here I was unaware of – I had no idea it was responsible for so much our oxygen or taking away such a large percentage of our carbon dioxide. Some figures are plain sad, especially about there soon being more plastic in the sea than fish. I’m going to take a closer look at the links that you’ve kindly added on. Also congratulations on the reviews! 😀❤️

    • Thanks Annika! I liked that “10 things you can do” list because some of the things seemed a little different than the usual. Groups like Oceana or the Ocean Conservancy really help because they work with lawyers and politicians to create change. It gives me some hope to sign the petitions they send out – they’ve had lots of victories because of them so we just need to keep those going somehow. 🙂

  5. I agree with the others. What a beautiful nod to Oceans Day, Sheila! Your photographs are gorgeous. Thanks also for the action list. I’m off now to check out the links.
    Enjoy the weekend,
    Theadora

    • Thanks Theadora! I liked that list because a few of the things seemed a little different than the usual. Oceana and the Ocean Conservancy sends out petitions like those other links all the time to create worldwide environmental change – that would be nice to see! I hope you’re enjoying your summer!

  6. Great information here, Sheila. Considering how much most people absolutely LOVE the beach you would think we’d spare a thought for the oceans all the time. Unfortunately we just take it for granted. Thank you so much for sharing this and reminding us of how precious our oceans really are xxxx

    • Thanks Dianne! That’s true, maybe we love the ocean so much that we don’t want to accept that anything could be wrong. Or the problems seem so huge that we don’t think we can make a difference. But then everything we do makes a difference. Love and hugs!

    • Thank you so much for taking the time to read and review Ocean Echoes! I really appreciate it, especially since it’s hard to find the time to do anything these days. I hope you’ll get to soak in the beauty of the ocean this summer!

  7. Eeeek…these stats are so scary but thank you for sharing the info and encouraging all of us to love our oceans more. I’m happy you’re seeing so much success with your book, honey. I still think about the story…it rocks! xo

    • Thanks so much – and thank you for reading and reviewing it! I really appreciate it because I know how hard it is to find the time these days. I hope you’ll get the chance to get out to the ocean this summer!

    • Yay – that’s great that you were already doing those things! I’ll admit sometimes I still drink bottled water (while recycling the bottle), but really it’s better not to purchase plastic at all instead of relying on recycling. I liked that it mentioned joining an ocean conservation group too – because when individual voices join together, that’s when real change happens.

    • Thanks Kate! We’ll keep hoping together. Any day that inspires beach cleanups sounds good to me. I hope you’ll get the chance to enjoy the ocean this summer and let me know if you’ll be around here for that trip to the Pirate! 🙂

    • Thanks so much and thank you for your wonderful review! I’m already looking forward to the next installment in the Six Train series. I hope you’re feeling better every day and that you’ll be able to get out to the ocean this summer!

  8. Thank you Sheila for this passionate and informed plea for our loved oceans.
    I grew up by one and my love for the seas and oceans is part of me.
    The shock of what plastics do to the bird life and more was overwhelming
    as I didn’t know the size of it.
    Happy oceans day.
    miriam

    • It’s nice to meet you! That’s great that you’re a fellow ocean lover – the ocean needs all the love it can get. The problems can be overwhelming but there’s also hope. New research and inventions are coming through all the time to address some of the problems. I’ve seen a lot of victories happen through ocean conservation groups like Oceana and The Ocean Conservancy, so that gives me hope for a better future.

  9. I missed this beautiful Ocean Day.. The ocean holds a certain magic for us All I feel.. Water being cleansing, it rejuvenates and heals..
    Beautiful images and we should never forget the importance of Ocean Life and our Aquatic friends whose balance is so important for the rest of the Earth..
    Many thanks for sharing Sheila.. and I so thank you for your own lovely visit to my shores today 🙂

    • Thanks Sue! I agree we should never forget the importance of the ocean and ocean life. The ocean gives us so much that it can be easy to take it for granted. I hope we’ll learn to give it more love in the future. Thank you for visiting too – I hope you’re enjoying your garden!

      • Yes, the ocean and aquatic life is so important.. And it’s eco system so important for our own species too.. ❤ And bless you, thank you, This time of year Sheila I am spending lots of time in the garden.. And at the moment the weather is perfect. 🙂
        Thank you so much for asking.. Big hugs Sue xx

  10. Too often our seas and oceans are see as merely barriers and rubbish bins rather than exciting worlds that we should respect. As well as the plastics and pollution, governments have dumped military armaments that have poisoned and killed wildlife.

    • It is sad to see the ocean being used as a dumping ground when it’s such a beautiful, miraculous place – and especially when everything is so connected. I hope we’ll learn from all our mistakes and restore the ocean while we still can. The ocean conservation groups that are out there doing that give me some hope.

  11. Hi Sheila! Sorry for being late here. It is sad to read about the carbon dioxide effects… I am watching an amazing documentary about the Indian ocean (I’ll watch part 2 this weekend, there are 4 parts in total) and just learned about abalone fishing and the black market 😦 Really so sad. Also I saw a fisherman removing fins from a shark to sell to a middleman to sell to China for extravagant soup. Oh it’s horrific the damage this is all doing to the marine ecosystem! On a brighter note, thank you for raising awareness and for your book, which is on my bookshelf right now. I look forward to reading it soon xx

    • Thanks Christy! Some of those documentaries are too sad to watch. I’ve seen the shark finning and couldn’t believe anyone would ever do that – catch small, harmless sharks in nets, slice their fins off, then put them back in the ocean to die. It’s really horrible to see but at the same time it’s something everyone should see. That and the seagulls that are filled with plastic. I hope the documentaries weren’t too depressing though! 🙂 Happy weekend!

    • Thank you! It does feel like it’s come to that because I don’t see how we can survive without a healthy ocean. We need to do as much as possible for the ocean and ocean life while we can.

Comments are always welcome

