Great Blogs and the Winner Is…

trumpeting statueIt’s about time to add to my list of great blogs. I’m thankful for the friends I’ve found here and this is just a small sampling of a few in alphabetical order. Many of you already know each other, but just in case there’s anyone out there who hasn’t visited these people, you’re missing out.

Carrie Rubin – Very funny observations on life, health, and writing from the author of The Seneca Scourge

Found in France – Photography and observations from a small town in France

4amwriter – Thoughts on writing and life and the balancing act between the two

I Have a Voice – Beautiful, inspirational poetry

JMMcDowell – An archaeologist and writer with serialized fiction posts and author interviews

Joy in the Moments – Posts on writing, author interviews, traveling, and all the joy that can be found everywhere from the author of Eyes of Light and Secret Keepers

LScott Thoughts – Beautiful, fun, inspirational poetry and thoughts

Milka Pejovic – Nature photography from the San Diego area

Miniscule Moments of Inspiration – Observations on life and nature from a writer and picture book illustrator living in Australia

Reading Interrupted – Inspirational posts on the love of books

The Vibes – A talented graphic artist’s collection of photos and artwork

Two Black Dogs – Photography and observances from travels through Europe and at home in Australia with two black dogs

I’ll be adding to this list with future posts. You can see others through the Great Blogs category listed on the home page.

Now it’s time to announce the winner of the $25 Amazon gift card. I plan on doing more of these giveaways in the future. I know we’re all busy so this is just a way of saying thank you to everyone.

All Twitter followers for @SheilaHurst11 were entered to win. Commenters on the last post were also entered to win. And the winner is….

Rebecca Belliston@rlbelliston

winner

I’ll send you a message for your gift card. As you can see from the photo, I used a very high-tech method for this madness. I printed out my list of Twitter followers, cut each one into fortune cookie strips, added commenters from the last post, and mixed them all together in a bowl before selecting the winner. Just in case you wanted the recipe.

Thank you all for visiting, commenting, and following, but most of all thank you for your friendship. I’m looking forward to laughing together through the winter.

45 thoughts on “Great Blogs and the Winner Is…

  1. Congrats to Rebecca!

    Blogging really does prove to be so much more than we expected. I’m convinced social media is an introvert’s dream. We can interact when we want with wonderful people from all over the world in relatively small sound bites. What’s not to love? I’ve ‘met’ so many talented, kind, funny people these last two years, including you! Thanks so much for mentioning my blog among this list of wonderful bloggers, many of whom I already follow and ‘know.’

    • It’s been a lot of fun to travel to Ohio, London, France, or Australia while sitting at my computer. Sometimes I feel like we’re sitting around and drinking coffee or eating chocolate together. Thank you for entertaining me so much! I’m really glad we’ve become friends in this weird way.

    • Thank you – I’m following the second one and will have to check the others out. It’s hard to narrow down any favorites when there are so many great blogs out there so I’ll keep adding to this list every once in a while with more posts. Thank you for transporting me to the French countryside through your words and photos!

      • I believe all three of those blogs are winners as are you! Yes, it is difficult with so many wonderful bloggers and I like to check out one’s I have viewed as well. But Hollyanne just hits it over the wall every time and Christine and Carly really keep it in perspective!
        By the way, there is a smile when I see your post in my inbox!

      • Thanks Léa! I’m glad to hear we send each other smiles. I’ll keep dreaming of visiting for real one of these days during the wine harvest!

  2. Thanks so much for mentioning my little blog here, Sheila. And I’m looking forward to exploring the ones I’m not familiar with already. It’s so true that blogging creates a wonderful community – it was one of the most surprising – and lovely- aspects of blogging that I didn’t know about. That and finding great blogs like yours!

    • Thanks Letizia! I love dreaming of books and bookstores and dusty libraries along with you. I’m so glad we were able to find each other because of our love of books. I’ll look forward to laughing with you some more on Twitter too!

    • Thanks Kath! I’m so glad Nano is going well for you and I’m sure you’ll tackle that mountain in no time! I can hear the Rocky music now.

    • Hahah – I thought you were the marketing guru around here! Your photos are beautiful and I’m sure the calendars will sell themselves. Thank you for making me see the beauty of a spider web or a drop of water.

      • Yes, I am a marketing guru, and as such, I don’t miss a single opportunity to ask people for their help in more exposure! Word of mouth is very powerful. 🙂

  3. Congrats to Rebecca! I love your high tech method–made me smile. I see some new to me bloggers in your list, I will have to check them out! Thanks, Sheila. 🙂

    • Thanks for taking a look at them. They’re all a lot of fun. That method was a little strange because I really felt like I was making something while stirring those fortune cookie strips all together. I’m glad we found each other and I’ll look forward to laughing with you through the winter!

  4. This is so sweet of you, Sheila, and thanks so much for including me in your list! I’m honored and will check out the other blogs I haven’t seen yet…I love your amazing photos and love reading what you have to say! Many hugs to you! 🙂

    • Thanks Lauren! I just wish there could be more time to visit all the time because any visit makes me smile. Thank you for your inspirational poetry and hugs to you!

  5. Congrats to the winner. Thank you for mentioning my blog, and I can’t wait to check out some of those blogs I haven’t visited before. Isn’t it funny how blogging brings people together over even just one common thread. I feel very lucky that I’m part of this community.

    • Thanks Kate! It’s hard to come up with lists like this but I wanted to let anyone who might be missing out know how fun you and the others are to visit. I hope you enjoy those other sites too!

  6. Hi Shiela,

    Loved your listing of some of the great blogs you have come across. It does become a great pointer to where one could go for some enlightening read. So Thank you.

    Shakti

  7. Congratulation to Rebecca, Thank you for bringing in such generous way these blogs to my attention, Sheila. I will go over and see for myself as well 🙂 .
    groetjes, Francina

  8. Congratulations to your winner, and thank you for the lovely mention of my blog! I love our corner of the blogosphere and the camaraderie and support to be found here. That truly is the best part of blogging—connecting with people from all over the world. Such a far cry from my school days when we used air mail to reach pen pals across the world. 🙂

    • I remember those air mail pen pals! That was pretty complicated. Thank you for entertaining me with your Meghan stories. I could have gone on and on but tried to stick to a quick description for each blog because so many had to be listed. Next time I’ll try to control myself and only mention a few, even though I’m already guessing that’ll be impossible. Happy almost weekend!

  9. Congratulations to Rebecca and many thanks to you Sheila for including me on your list of blogs, it is a pleasure and an honour to be included among so many wonderful blogs.

    Wishing you a fabulous weekend 🙂

    • Yes, I feel sorry for anyone who doesn’t know about those three. They’ve become good friends along the way. Thanks for checking the others out! They’re all great friends and a lot of fun.

    • Thanks for taking the time to check them out. I loved your post on storytellers and can’t wait to hear more about your Ireland adventures!

Comments are closed.