Thank You and a Giveaway

November oceanWriting can be a lonely thing to do. We’re observers of life so it does help to get out there every once in a while, but we also need to lock ourselves away as often as possible if we’re ever going to get any writing done.

These days, we’re not writing alone. Thanks to blogging and Twitter, we can find other writers, cheer each other on, and commiserate together. If you’re doing NanoWriMo, you know what I’m talking about and I hope you’re locked away somewhere with a fresh supply of chocolate.

The road to publication is filled with potholes of self doubt. We wonder if anyone will hear our words. We wonder if anyone will care. Maybe they’ll laugh at us or think we’re horrible writers. Still, we take that risk and put ourselves out there. Because we’re hoping someone somewhere will care.

I’m amazed by the friends I’ve found here and I just want to say thank you. So it’s about time to start doing some random giveaways. If you leave a comment on this post, I’ll put your name in for a $25 Amazon gift card. If you already follow me on Twitter, I’ll put your name in again. Finally, if you follow me @SheilaHurst11 by Monday, November 11, I’ll put your name in for the gift card and I’ll make sure to follow back. The winner will be announced here on Wednesday. In the meantime, just think of all the books you’ll be able to get to last you through the winter.

November is a good time to look back at the year and give thanks. I’m thankful for the beauty of the ocean, the joy of finding and reading that perfect book, friends that are more like family, and family that’s more like friends.

What are you thankful for? Which books are you thinking of reading next? If you’re doing NanoWriMo, how’s that going so far? 

69 thoughts on “Thank You and a Giveaway

    • Thank you and that’s true – the more books the better! You’re entered twice to win because you’re already a Twitter friend. 🙂 Hope it’s not too cold out there yet but get ready for hibernation!

    • It’s a good time to look back and be thankful. I guess I’d rather do that than look back and think of all the things I didn’t accomplish yet this year. 🙂 Thank you for visiting and your name will be put in twice to win!

  1. The support we receive from other writers through social media is truly a gift. I’m not so sure I could bluster along without knowing others have experienced the same things as me. Self-doubt would probably do me in. But knowing others feel the same things, and it’s not just me, helps tremendously.

    Nice giveaway!

    • Thanks Carrie! It’s helped me a lot to be able to commiserate and laugh together. I’m counting on that to get me through this winter. Thank you for entertaining me so much on Twitter too! I’ll put your name in twice because you’re already a Twitter friend. I should really put it in three times because you’re such a great friend but then I wouldn’t want to be accused of cheating. 🙂

  2. This is my 10th year participating in NaNoWriMo. It’s been coming along wonderfully! You can view my updated story on my website, but no biggie. Best wishes to all!

    • Wow – that’s amazing that you were able to do it that many times! I really hope you have lots of chocolate and coffee or tea on hand. Thank you so much. You’re entered twice to win. Good luck with Nano – I’ll make sure to visit so I can cheer you on!

  3. I’m thankful for family and friends. They’re awesome. I love my blogging friends like you too. You are a source of amazing support in the writing process–helping me keep a good attitude.

    • Thanks Char! I’m so glad we’ve been able to meet this way. You inspire me to keep going and keep writing. It’s always fun to visit you to find out about books and your adventures (with or without chocolate)!

  4. Sheila, I am merely a fan and fellow writer. I don’t twitter and not on facebook. However, my best thoughts are with you and perhaps one day in France… 🙂
    Like you I have made some new friends by blogging and had more than my share of support for which I am very grateful.
    Bon courage et bonne chance!

    • Thank you and you’re still entered to win because you took the time to visit! Blogging has been great for meeting people like you. I’ll be sure to look you and the wine harvesting up when I’m back in France! In the meantime, I’ll keep dreaming about it through your posts.

  5. Are you doing NanoWriMo this year? I’ve finally decided to take the plunge and do PiBoldMo this year and I’m super excited. I’ve already come up with a few book ideas that are great (yes, I’m bragging but my kids actually want me to make the books because they laughed so hard at my description). I’m not sure I can come up with 30 picture book ideas by the end of the month, but if I can end up with a dozen or so that are good, I’ll be very happy.

    Very nice idea for the book giveaway. I believe in paying it forward! Oh, and I’m most grateful for my kids. They have really changed my whole world, for the better.

    • No Nano for me – I’ll be concentrating on revising my novels and cheering everyone else on from the sidelines. Wow – that’s great that you’ll be doing 30 picture books! I can’t wait to see the end result and will definitely be cheering you on! Your kids really are special and so much fun. I love hearing about them because they give me hope for the future.

      • Haha, no pressure for my kids! 😉 I find myself telling them that they can do great things for this world if they put the effort into it, and I really believe it. Every child should aim for that, honestly. Make the world a better place, not worse.

      • That’s true – I really think that everything we do makes a difference in some way, even if we don’t realize it. So we might as well try to make things better. I’m sure your kids will and I can’t wait to see that happen!

  6. Hi Sheila Nano is going well am ahead of schedule and hoping to stay that way although life can get in the way, the chocolate has kept me going and all the writing buddies as I watch their tallies rise I keep pushing onwards. The no edit is setting me free to tell my story and not be fearful of the first crappy draft. I am also thankful for other writer connections such as you.

    • Thanks so much! I’m so glad we’ve gotten to know each other through our blogging adventures and that we’ve become friends along the way. That’s great that you’re ahead of your word count – you can do it! I’ll be checking in to make sure. 🙂

      • When I started my blog I had no idea what it would bring, talented people like you from all over this world. I use to feel isolated as aspiring writer, now I have so many online writing friends it blows my mind Sheila and that is what drives me to keep plugging away in november. Thanks for the support.

      • Thank you – that’s really nice of you to say and I feel the same way. I hope you’re keeping up with that word count!

  7. I am thankful for my jobs! Yes, I have 3 🙂 But I am happy and thankful to have them. I am also so thankful for the health and safety of my family and friends. Oh! And for ice…I really love ice. 😉

    • Thank you and it’s nice to meet you! I can relate to being scattered with lots of jobs, especially while writing. I’m not so sure I’m loving ice though with winter on the way. 🙂 Thank you for finding me on Twitter too. I made sure to follow back and you’re entered twice to win!

  8. Wonderful post, Sheila, and I’m thankful for my family, friends, my dog and books, of course! 🙂 Thanks for offering the give-away, too, very nice of you! Oh, and I’m thankful for you and all of your support you’ve brought to my blog! xx

  9. I am most thankful for my husband my true friend for over 30 years.
    It’s always nice to follow writers reading is one of my favorite things to do!
    Follow on twitter as @tannawings

    • That’s a wonderful thing to be thankful for and congratulations on 30 years! I love to read too and I’m looking forward to hopefully hibernating with lots of books this winter. Thank you and I’ll make sure to find you on Twitter!

  10. I’m thankful for my family. I’m thankful we are in good health. I’m thankful we have a roof over our heads. Lots to be thankful for.

    • That’s true – when you really start thinking about it, there’s so much to be thankful for. Thank you for finding me on Twitter – you’re entered twice to win!

  11. This is great and I’m happy to find you. I am also a blogger and writer so I feel what you’re saying. Great description of the indescribable! I am thankful for love in all its many forms – a snowy day, a friend’s gesture of compassion, the love of the universe for us all. I follow on twitter @MissingLynxx.

    • Thank you – I’m happy we found each other! I love those snowy days, especially when we can just stay in and read. Those are great things to be thankful for and when you’re looking for love like that, I bet you find it everywhere. Thank you for finding me on Twitter – I made sure to follow back and you’re entered twice to win!

  12. Thank you for your writing. It is always an inspiration! I did some writing classes during the summer. For November though, I am focusing on reading and maybe writing a poem or two. I would like to support the local authors in my writing groups and have begun reading a succession of novels by them on Amazon and in print. I am happy to report a couple of the books have already been put on my “favorite” list. I am thankful that I am able to read and write and explore the world so easily. I appreciate the friends I have made in the writing world also.

    • Thanks so much Vickie! That’s really nice of you. I hope you had fun with your writing classes. It’s hard to say which is more fun – reading or writing – but it’s great to do both as much as possible! I’ll have to check out those favorites on Goodreads just to add more to that ever-growing to-read list. I’m thankful for friends like you.

  13. I enjoy your writing and I am glad to have found your blog:) I am thankful for so much this year and pretty much every year, especially my greatest someone and my health. I have been doing a lot of creative writing and reading right now. Plus I am running a book drive for the Literacy Council here so their adult learners have books to read – love doing this and sharing my love of reading:) Happy Thursday!

    • Thanks Renee! Sometimes we overlook things like our health and we really should stop and be thankful for things like that – just keep up with that juicing! That’s great that you’re out there running a book drive and sharing your love of reading. Doing that must make you appreciate books even more. Happy Thursday! 🙂

  14. Like many others have already said, I’m thankful for my family and friends and the wonderful community I’ve found through blogging. You and other blog buddies have helped me through those awful periods of self-doubt, and I’ve had the chance to read some great books that I might never have found.

    November is rebuilding month for me, but that involves a lot of new writing to replace what had to be dropped. So far, so good, and I’m hoping to keep it up. 🙂

    I really need to write a couple of book reviews for the blog before I dive into anything new!

    • I’m really happy we’ve found each other in this weird way! I’ll be thinking of you and the novel rebuilding because I’ll be slogging through mine too. We’ll just have to keep cheering each other on. Good luck with your writing and for finding more great books to read through the winter!

    • Thanks so much for finding me there and you’re entered twice to win! The Graveyard Book sounds like a perfect accompaniment to the rainy fall weather, especially when huddled in some warm place.

  15. Happy NaNoWriMo! I wish I were doing it this year, but November is a little too crazy for that. But since I’m not writing a novel, I have plenty of time to read. And that’s exactly what I’m doing. Just started a Jodi Picoult.

    • I won’t be doing NanoWriMo either – I’ll just be on the sidelines cheering everyone on. I need to concentrate on revising my novels instead. I’ve only read Songs of the Humpback Whale and I think that was her first so I should probably try some more. Hope you enjoy it!

  16. Sheila, your giveaway is such a great idea and for a great reason!! Who doesn’t love a giveaway? I have to agree with everyone, the supportive writing community here has been the biggest and best surprise about blogging!!! 🙂

    I don’t tweet as much as I should. I use it mainly to consume info that everyone else has to share. I need to get better at putting my own tweets out there. Looks like you’re building a nice platform — good for you, good job!! 🙂

    • Thanks Arlene! Twitter does seem to be fun so far. I probably shouldn’t have avoided it for so long. There’s a definite temptation to be crazy on it. 🙂 I like finding blogging friends there because it’s another way to keep up with posts and I’m not always so great at that. Blogging has been a fun way to find lots of great people like you. You’re entered twice to win!

  17. It is a great time of year to reflect, before the madness of the Christmas rush begins. I’m thankful for my family and friends – they get me and love me regardless, my two black dogs for their snuggles and companionship and last but not least, I’m thankful for my husband and his never-ending support of whatever hobby I choose to take on including blogging.

    Books are among my treasured possessions, at the moment I’m reading ‘Whatever you do Walk don’t run’ by Peter Allison and loving it, the next book I read will be the new Kathy Reichs book – I’m a sucker for fictional crime writing. As for Twitter, I have an account and I use it occasionally so it will be nice to follow someone familiar to me.

    Happy Sunday!

    • Thanks Sam! It’ll be nice to see you there too. Your dogs are so much fun – I can see why you love them. They must bring lots of smiles and happiness, especially while patiently waiting for those possums! Thank you for the book suggestion. I’ll make sure to add that one to my to-read list. Happy Sunday! I hope you’re having a great Spring!

  18. This is probably over, but just in case, here’s my entry. I am thankful for everything in my life — my friends, family, pets, home, job — everything. Thank you for the giveaway, even if I just missed it!

  19. Man, I missed the deadline for commenting. Boo! That’s okay, I think we’re already Twitter friends, so we’ll slide by on that. 🙂 What a nice gesture this is, Sheila. I’m thankful for my family and friends and the chance to write for one blessed hour a day!

    • Hahah – you were entered to win anyway because we’re Twitter friends. But then you didn’t win. 🙂 I’m glad to hear you’re able to squeeze that hour in there! I hope everything’s going well with your mom these days.

Comments are always welcome

