Why Bother with New Year’s Resolutions?

sunrise or sunset

Resolutions can be as silly and as short-lived as those noisemakers and hats that appear on New Year’s Eve. I usually end up forgetting any resolutions as soon as they’re made, but I like silly things so I keep making them anyway. They give me hope. They make me think maybe this will be the year…if I could just remember to keep at least one resolution.

I tried to think of fun things to add this time around. If the promise of fun and excitement doesn’t make me stick to these resolutions, nothing will. So here’s my 2013 list:

1. Publish my novels. This makes me laugh because it’s been a resolution for too many years. If I can’t find the perfect agent for traditional publishing, I’ll try a small press or I’ll self publish.

2. Learn how to play the fiddle. For some reason, I keep wanting to do this but then I keep forgetting, probably because of being preoccupied with #1.

3. Plant more trees. This should be easy to do because I haven’t planted many trees lately.

4. Move around more often (even if that means stepping away from the computer). This one should also be easy because I don’t move around much on a regular day. Since the usual “exercise more” resolution never seems to work, this is a downscaled version.

5. Laugh more often. Probably already accomplished after watching The Big Lebowski recently.

6. Learn Italian once and for all because it’s so much fun to say.

7. Drink more wine and eat more chocolate. That one could be hard to do but it would be fun to try.

I’ve been subjecting everyone to this blog for about a year now. Thank you all for visiting and especially for your friendship. The best part of this adventure has been meeting you. I hope everyone has a happy 2013 filled with much love and laughter.

Have you ever kept a New Year’s resolution? Did you make any resolutions this year? Does The Big Lebowski make you laugh?  

The_Big_Lebowski___Jeff_Bridges

43 thoughts on “Why Bother with New Year’s Resolutions?

    • That’s a good way to do it because then hopefully those goals will continue to be met through the year. And yes, if I can’t find anything else to laugh at, I can always laugh at myself! Happy 2013!

    • Mine too! I’ve watched it so many times and every time I watch it there’s always something new to laugh at. It’s a great one to watch whenever a laugh is needed.

    • That’s funny – I’m starting to think that’s the way to keep those resolutions – just resolve to do things like that! A great uncle of mine is in his 90s and he eats a piece of dark chocolate every day, so it must be good for us.

  1. I think most people’s resolutions are unrealistic and way too big to stick to. With so many changes in my life in 2012, I feel very inspired about 2013 and I’m making a list of intentions, not resolutions. I’m using my 101 in 1001 list as a platform. I just updated it today and I still have more changes to make to it: http://perfectingmotherhood.wordpress.com/2013/01/04/101-in-1001-challenge-update-january-2013/.

    There are things I know I want to accomplish this year, but I have no idea how to do it. The fun will be to try things out and see what happens. This Sunday, I’m hosting a Vision Boards meeting with a whole bunch of friends, where we’ll create our vision boards fo 2013. It will be nice to see my 2013 goals on a board I can look at every day as a reminder.

    • That’s a great idea! If I had a vision board staring me in the face all the time, maybe I wouldn’t forget about my resolutions halfway through the year. This is the first time I’ve added fun resolutions, so hopefully at least some of those will be kept.

      • I’ve never done a vision board so I’m really looking forward to it. One of my items will be to go to sleep by 11pm. Since the board will be on my bedroom wall, it might stare me in the face often enough for me to finally go to bed at a decent time. Fingers crossed!

  2. I’ve always wanted to learn to play the fiddle, too! I doubt I ever will, but it remains a nice aspiration. And believe it or not, I’ve never seen “The Big Lebowski.” I really should watch it some day.

  3. I no longer make resolutions but I do have a list of things I want to achieve, 2011 it was volunteering at an animal shelter, 2012 was going back to art class and this year I plan on signing up for a photography course. Laughing is always on the agenda, I watch Bridesmaids when I want to have a good laugh and like you, I want to learn Italian as well and maybe French :-).

    Best wishes for a wonderful 2013!

    • That’s great that you’ve done all those things! It sounds like that’s the way to do it – just think of at least one major thing to achieve for the year. I’m always mixing Italian and French up though so I’d be really confused if I tried to learn them both at the same time. Thank you and happy 2013!

  4. The Big L is one of my husband’s favorite movies, so I’m sure he’d approve of this post. 😉 I’m not very good with resolutions because they can be hard to stick with. And, to me, the dark and cold of winter is a strange time to try to make changes. Wouldn’t spring be easier with nicer weather and new growth all around us?!

    My Saturday post does touch on this, so I don’t want to say too much here. 😉

    • Spring would make more sense because in the winter I think I’d rather hibernate than anything else. I’m not sure I’ve ever kept a resolution, but for some crazy reason I still like making them. Hopefully we’ll stick with them this year!

  5. Stick with Goal #1….that’s a great one that you shouldn’t give up on. You’re a great writer. And I will join you on #4 because I could shed a few pounds…but I will decline #3, because I have too many trees already (unless a storm comes through and knocks out another one. Then I’ll replace it). And you know I’ll work hard on the eating more chocolate one (although I shouldn’t)

  6. I did keep last years and finished the WIP. This years is to get rid of plastic and use less. I think that’s about it. Usually I crash and burn but I might be on a roll from last year.

    • That’s great that you finished your WIP (and kept a resolution at the same time)! I should add the plastic one to my list too. Even if we recycle the plastic we use, it’s much better to use less in the first place. Good luck with your resolutions and happy 2013!

  7. Great resolutions. I have not seen the Big Lebowski. It’s hard to fit in adult movies when I have kids running around. Then by the time they go to bed, I’m ready for bed too.

    I think your publishing goals are wonderful, and I wish you all the luck with it. I know what you mean about shifting from traditional to self. A year ago I was so anti-self publishing. Now, not so much. 🙂

    And I love your goal to plant more trees. I think that would be a really rewarding resolution.

    • It’s true that it’s not a movie for the kids – mostly because of the language – but it is a funny one! I just might have a strange sense of humor though too. It is really tempting to self publish – especially with novels that have been waiting for publication for too long already. This will have to be our year! 🙂 Happy 2013!

    • Yes, I think most of us forget to do that one (and I’ve probably already broken it)! We sit at the computer and before we know it the day has gone by. I’ll have to remember to at least move a little more while sitting.

  8. The Big Lebowski makes me laugh – a lot (dude)! 😀

    I like your resolutions, but I only have one at the moment – get my house up on the block. Once that’s done, I’ll have more time to start thinking of others 😉

    • I’m glad to find another Lebowski fan! I forget how funny it is until I see it again and then it always amazes me. It sounds like just the house is enough of a resolution. I’m not sure I’d have the energy for any others after that one.

  9. Coming up with new year resolutions is often times good as it gets you thinking of the future. keeping to resolutions is another story.
    the list you have come with is fun – and number one is great. I wish you all the best with the publishing.

    • Thanks Amira! That’s true, it’s always good to keep thinking about the future, even if we don’t stick with these resolutions. I hope this year will be the best one for you yet.

  10. Hi Sheila ! The photo is so beautiful 🙂
    I never make resolutions but this year, for the first time in my life, I made one, only one. I want to improve my landscape photos so I’ll try to practice more often.
    I like your resolution #7 very much ! I eat chocolate on a daily basis ! I hope you can find an agent to publish your books, this would be awesome and a wonderful achievement 🙂
    I wish you a great and happy New Year !

    • Improving your landscape photos will be a tough one – I don’t see how they can be improved upon! Thank you – it seems like a good year to work on our dreams.

Comments are always welcome

