Lucky Seven

I love the game of tag. It reminds me of running around the neighborhood while blending in with the twilight and feeling daring for being out so late. Kasia James of Writer’s Block tagged me for Lucky Seven. She’s a talented writer and friend from Australia. Please take a look at her site if you haven’t yet – it’s a great one.

Here’s how Lucky Seven works:

  • Go to page 7 or 77 in your current manuscript
  • Go to line 7
  • Post on your blog the next 7 lines or sentences – as they are
  • Tag 7 other people to do the same

Lucky me – I have two unpublished novels to choose from for this! The excerpt from the novel I’m querying gives too much away, so here’s the excerpt from page 7 of my first unpublished novel:

Cars of different colors and in different stages of disrepair glided easily along. From the outside looking in, everything seemed so simple. Every car stayed separate, yet the same road connected them all. That idea fascinated her. Where were they all going? Where would they end up? She peered in, catching glimpses of people she would never meet.

I’m going to reach out and wildly tag five people just to be different:

Joy in the Moments

Ross Gale

Bookish and Odd

Frivolous Monsters

Bailey Is Writing

19 thoughts on “Lucky Seven

  1. Thanks for tagging me, Sheila! I think this is fantastic, and I’m actually going to play along using the original brain dump of my novel-in-progress. As it happens, this excerpt may not exist as-is in the final draft, but it’s a *moment* that will remain, so I suppose I can share a little sneak at the first workings-through of how it may have happened.

  2. Thanks Sheila. I have done this one before, but I thought it was super fun! So I will gladly do it again. What is the basic genre of your book? That’s exciting that you’re querying another book. Good luck, and thanks again for the tag! I’m IT!

    • I figured maybe you had but wasn’t sure. I’m glad you thought it was fun though! I guess you could say both books are mainstream since I don’t know what else to call them. I still have to finish the first one but the 2nd one is done! 🙂

  3. Thanks Sheila. I’ll have to start putting my novel into a word doc. It’s all in WriteRoom right now and it doesn’t count pages.

    • I took forever to do mine so don’t worry about it. I just wanted to tag so that I’d feel like I’m out on the playground again. It’s fun to see what comes up on those pgs though!

    • Thank you and thanks for tagging me! I’ll admit it’s not quite exactly the 7th line, but it is on the 7th pg (and the first real paragraph after the 7th line). I was surprised that it wasn’t too horrible, but it does help to have two books that have been undergoing revisions for forever to choose from!

  4. I like your meme. It has a sci-fi flavor to it, although I guess it could easily be mainstream fiction. Thanks for sharing!

    • That’s funny because I love reading science fiction but I haven’t really tried writing it yet. Maybe next time just for fun. I’m not really sure what this book is, so hopefully it’s mainstream enough. 🙂

  5. AARRGG you are like Dr. Frankenstein…bringing the dead back to life..LIVE BLOG LIVE I SAY!!! hahaha. Lord, I have abandoned my poor blog–but I have been writing.

    And I laughed my ass off that taking SEVEN lines of your WIP would give too much away. I obviously need maybe a little more oomph in my book…I’d have to look very hard to find any seven lines that would give anything away. (note to self, write more important stuff) ha!

    I will play the game, but I won’t get to it until next week.

    But just because you are such a silly person, I will post my seven (ten) lines here until I can play the game later. (I’m 10 lines because the selection (on both page 7 and page 77) were really short-dialogue lines and were goofy alone: So here is how page seven, seven lines down goes:

    “No,” I tell Queeg. “This one has a college degree.”
    “In what?”
    “English.”
    “What’s he do with that degree.”
    “He’s in a band.”
    “Of course he is.” Queeg knows and disapproves of my propensity to date musicians.
    “He’s also an assistant manager at Pizza Hut.”
    “He’s an idiot too.” Queeg has a simple classification system when it comes to the men I date. They’re all idiots. I like to think that it has something to do with them not being good enough for me, but I suspect it has more to do with them being stupid enough to date me.

    • That’s funny – I’m glad I could help bring you back to life! Yes – I’m a pretty paranoid writer and strangely enough, the excerpt from the other book seemed like it would give the whole book idea away. I didn’t want to do that to my poor unpublished book – not yet anyway. This one at least was a little more mysterious.

Comments are closed.